Day 5 of 26: Korean food, poshos, getting rumbled.

I rode past a Korean restaurant on Buccleuch St. yesterday. This fills me with inordinate joy. Yes, this post is going to be about food.

Korean is my favourite cuisine. I came to it quite late, probably in my teens, unlike other Asian cuisines, like Thai (6 years old), Japanese (4 years old), Chinese (in the womb). I love how in your face kimchi is, and the banchan (side dishes) served with the main meal. I adore pajeon, and kimbap, and everyone’s favourite, the stone-bowl rice dish bibimbap. But the BBQ. Oh, the BBQ — thinly sliced meat with just the right level of char, eaten in a smoke-filled restaurant…

Anyway, I like Korean food, is what I’m saying. The discovery of this Korean place has given me another marketing angle. I’m pretty sure I’m the only show on the Fringe that features Korean hip-hop, so today I’m gonna head down there, probably eat some naengmyeon, and put up a poster trumpeting that fact.

I had a day off yesterday as my venue is dark on Sundays. It was lovely out, and I used it productively. I rode out to Morningside (which was nice, but doesn’t really live up to its reputation as super-posho-organic-happy-land — although I noticed that’s where they hide the Waitrose). I sat in a cafe for about four hours writing a new version of my show (with a rather audacious story in the middle) and finishing a load of work I’d left behind in London. In the evening I did Charlie Duncan’s excellent free showcase at The Hive, which is a great venue on Niddry St. I think there were about 50 people in, so good exposure for my own show, if anything.

HORROR OF HORRORS, after the show, as the audience came out this guy came up to me and said ‘Kumusta.’ It took me a bit of time to process. Kumusta is ‘how are you’ in Tagalog. So I said – ‘Oh, kumusta, salamat po.’ He then pointed to his girlfriend and said ‘she’s Filipino.’ Ah ha. I never really expect Filipino people to come to my shows. I felt weirdly vulnerable. I have a couple of jokes about the Filipino side of my family speaking Taglish (Tagalog and English in the same sentence) in my set, and usually I do a demonstration. However, I don’t speak Tagalog, and I have been lazy and didn’t look it up on the internet, so I’ve just been using song lyrics from the Philippines’ biggest pop singer, Charice. This is the equivalent of just going ‘Hit me baby one more time.’ I never thought anyone would notice, but as the guy and his Filipino girlfriend were leaving, she winked at me. I think she knows that magsimula tayo para tayo’y sobrang happy na does not mean what I want it to mean.

Leave a Reply

